top of page

Interview with Love You Later



Love You Later is the solo alt-pop project of Nashville-based artist and songwriter Lexi Aviles. Pairing electric melodies and honest lyrics with shimmery guitar riffs and euphoric synths, Love You Later’s music makes you feel like you’re in a dream. Over the past few years, the 23-year-old artist has opened for OneRepublic, Dayglow, and Briston Maroney, attended SXSW as an official artist and, last year, she sold out Nashville’s EXIT/IN.


I caught up with Love You Later to talk all about her most recent single 'Keepintouch' which is a song that's been on repeat for me since its release. We also discussed something she wants listeners to take away from listening to the song, as well as her start in music.


Hi, how are you?


Hi, I’m doing well today! Thanks for asking. How are you?


How would you describe your sound to the readers?


Love You Later’s sound is quite dreamy, vulnerable, and comforting. I hope when you listen you feel comfortable feeling all of your feelings.


Who would you say are your biggest musical influences?


Some of my biggest influences are The Japanese House, MUNA, and Frou Frou.


How did your music journey start?


Growing up, I was always something musical - school and church choirs, talent shows, songwriting camps, music lessons, musicals, shows, etc. There was never a doubt in my mind that I wanted to do music and the older I got, the clearer it became that I wanted to write my own music and be an artist. I remember seeing some of my first concerts, Hillary Duff and Miley Cyrus, and thinking to myself, “That’ll be me someday.” I started writing songs as soon as I could pick up a pencil, but I began taking it seriously when I was 13 and was going to these songwriting camps and I never looked back!


Your new single ‘Keepintouch’ is out now, congratulations! This song is one that I have had on repeat for the last few days, how was the process of creating this song for you?


Yes, thank you so much! It feels really good. The process was especially vulnerable and seamless thanks to my co-writers and friends, Bre Kennedy and Kyle Dreaden. I went into that songwriting session not knowing exactly what I wanted to write about, but I knew how I was feeling that day - really lonely, confused, frustrated, and isolated because a lot of my closest people were physically moving or felt distant. After about an hour of talking it out with Bre and Kyle, we had a song idea and the writing came very honestly and naturally.



Can you explain more about the inspiration behind the lyrics for this song? Why was this a song you wanted to write?


Last summer, it felt like everyone left all at once - my boyfriend had just left for a long tour, some of my best friends moved away, and some just felt distant because of something/someone getting in the way of our once closer connection. I quickly realized I had been selfishly blaming them for filling my own contentment and knew I needed to find some within myself. That’s what inspired ‘Keepintouch.’ I didn’t really have a choice whether I wanted to write it or not because sometimes creativity and feelings just have a way of pushing to the surface and I'd be silly for resisting.


Do you have a favourite lyric or line from the song?


"I’m having a moment, nobody knows it!"


What’s something you want listeners to take away from listening to ‘Keepintouch’?

This may seem a bit cliche, but in my experience, it’s 100% true: in order to feel truly content and happy with even the people that love you the most, you must feel content and happy with being alone. And I don’t necessarily mean “single,” I just mean physically being with yourself and nobody else and enjoying it. I just hope this song allows space for you to think about that and try and connect with yourself - sometimes all it takes is a deep breath.


What’s next for you? Do you have any more music on the way?


Yes! I’ve been writing a bunch more music that have quickly become some of my favourite Love You Later songs. I can’t wait for you to hear!

And lastly, what music have you been listening to recently? Anything you can recommend to us?

I’m kind of all over the place right now because I’ve mostly been listening to podcasts and books. Sometimes I get tired of playing music every second, lol. But still, I’ve been listening to lots of Charli XCX, Pinegrove, Frank Ocean, MUNA, and Rex Orange County.


Thank you so much for taking the time to answer these questions for us, it’s really appreciated!


Thank you!!!


Listen to Keepintouch here.

Follow Love You Later on Instagram here.


All After Midnight links here.


Music submissions and enquiries to aftermidnightblog1@gmail.com

Single post: Blog Single Post Widget
bottom of page