top of page

Interview with Johan Kull

Today I have an interview with Swedish songwriter and producer Johan Kull. After releasing his first song 'Dreams' last summer to great critical acclaim, Kull is back with his next song 'Home'.



Hi Johan, first of all, how are you?


Hi, I'm good thank you. I'm so glad Home is finally released. Due to everything that's going on right now I'm thankful for being able to make and produce music.


Could you describe your sound to the readers?


I would describe my music as melodious and emotional alternative pop, with influences from dream pop and ambient. My melancholic music is characterised by it’s dreamy soundscapes and layers of vocals.


Who are your biggest musical influences?


My absolute biggest musical influencer is Bon Iver. Others would be City and Color and Phoebe Bridgers.


Your new song ‘Home’ is out now, can you explain more about the process of creating this song?


Home took a while to write compared to Dreams, my first single. It was a struggle to make something both uniform to Dreams and to myself as an artist. I believe it took about three months but now I can't be more proud over the outcome.


I love the ambient sound of the song, can you talk us through your main inspirations for this song?


The song is about finding a home in a person. It’s a declaration of love to someone who brings out all the good in you and who sees your full potential. But it’s also about finding your place in life and things falling into place.


You say the song “is about finding a home in a person. It’s a declaration of love to someone who brings out all the good in you and who sees your full potential, but it’s also about finding your place in life and things falling into place” which is quite a positive outlook for a song, do you think this is something everyone needs at the moment? Was this a conscious decision?


This song has been especially hard to find the right words to, and it feels even more important to release it in times where our interpersonal relations has been even more important.


Is this part of a bigger project for you? Do you have any more music on the way?


More music is definitely coming. An EP is scheduled at the end of this year.


Lastly, what music have you been listening to recently? Anything to recommend to our readers?


The last couple of weeks during my work with the release of Home I've been listening to Wes Montgomery’s album Fusion.



Thank you so much to Johan Kull for taking the time to answer these questions for us, and make sure you go and listen to 'Home' as well as Kull's previous song 'Dreams', they are both well worth a listen.


You can listen to Home on Spotify here.

You can follow Johan Kull on Spotify here.

You can follow Johan Kull on Instagram here.


All After Midnight links are here.


Music Submissions and Enquiries to aftermidnightblog1@gmail.com

Single post: Blog Single Post Widget
bottom of page