top of page

Interview with Blair West



NYC based singer-songwriter Blair West has just released her debut song 'All This To Say' into the world, and we were lucky enough to catch up about the song, her biggest musical inspirations and her upcoming plans for future music.


Hi Blair, how are you?


I'm doing great! Catching up on sleep from my mini-tour in NYC and Baltimore to promote my first single.


How would you describe your sound to the readers?


I describe my sound as the intersection of folk, pop, and indie. I grew up appreciating the beautiful simplicity in folk music, with those traditional and timeless melodies that transcend genres; I always aim to create sounds like those, and enhance them with a contemporary/pop spin. I spent many years trying to ‘find my sound,’ and was so often caught up in what was the ‘coolest’ or most ‘sophisticated’ way to express myself musically. These days, I remind myself to write songs that feel good to my ear.


Who would you say are your biggest musical influences?


I love the beauty and free-spiritedness in Joni Mitchell’s voice and storytelling. Kacey Musgraves is another favorite. Listening to her melodies, you really trust her; it sounds like she really wants to tell you something. I also appreciate that her music is stripped down and simple - in my opinion, if a song can be meaningful without all the bells and whistles, then it's really good music.


How did your musical journey start?


Growing up, I always knew music was a part of me, whether playing piano or acting in musicals or writing guitar melodies in the late hours during high school. I dabbled in pursuing music professionally throughout my early adult life, but it wasn’t until several years after college that I realized there was no passion stronger than my passion for music. It was something I couldn’t ignore anymore. I realized I had nothing to lose by trying, but would always regret not putting myself out there, for fear of what other people would think. And I finally decided to "go for it."


You have just released your debut single ‘All This To Say’, congratulations! What was the process of working on this song like for you? Did the pandemic affect the way you work at all?


Thank you! I had been writing songs in my apartment bathroom during the pandemic for several months. I always knew I wanted to write a love letter to my relationship, expressing the relief and joy that comes with being truly accepted by a partner — about the peace that comes with real love. For ‘All this to Say, ’I started free-writing this love letter and, very unusually, the song and melody came out very naturally and quickly. I played it over and over again, for myself and for others, and the soulful and slightly anthemic quality seemed to resonate with people. I recorded the vocals and guitar with the very talented Jake Libassi of Shifted Recording in Brooklyn, who added some amazing synths and percussion. The song took only a few hours to record and master, and I was really happy with the end result.


Blair West photographed by Hannah Cohen
Blair West photographed by Hannah Cohen

You’ve said the song is about "having your partner accept every part of you, not just the pretty pieces” which I think is quite an important message, especially given how social media can impact how people view their own lives and relationships. How important for you was it to write this song?


Absolutely! If the pandemic has taught me anything, it’s that there is no place to hide the dark parts of oneself from your significant other -- any why should we? Ben (my fiancée) lets me be the most ‘me’ I can possibly be, “in the light and in the dark.” It was important to me to express the relief that comes with a partner really accepting you — about the peace that comes with real love.


Do you have a favourite lyric or line from the song?


"Let me make a mess/I'll keep all the tchotchkes you don't want" always makes me smile. These little details, which have simple meanings but hopefully larger sentiments, remind me of little polaroid snapshots of life.

What’s next for you? Are there any plans for more music soon?


Yes! I’m excited to release several more songs in my debut EP, and I’m also working on a music video for ‘All this to Say,’ out later this month. I also have a few exciting shows coming up in NYC this winter/spring.


And lastly, what music have you been listening to recently? Anything you can recommend to us?


I've been loving long walks listening to French pop -- Pomme, Yelle etc. Highly recommend!



Blair West photographed by Hannah Cohen
Blair West photographed by Hannah Cohen

Thank you so much to Blair for taking the time to answer these questions for us, it's really appreciated!


You can listen to 'All This To Say' here.

You can follow Blair West on Instagram here.


All After Midnight links here.

Music submissions and enquiries to aftermidnightblog1@gmail.com

Single post: Blog Single Post Widget
bottom of page